Home » Japanese » renewal

renewal

Hi everyone!
Long time no write on this blog.

The last time I pressed Publish, I was starting my 6-month study abroad in Japan. A long time has passed since I came back and a lot has changed. Well, yes and no.

On a professional side, I no longer mark “student” as my occupation. I have joined the workforce now working from Monday to Friday (mainly). Having a new full-time job took me a while to get used to. I couldn’t stand looking at my own computer after looking at one all day!

On a personal side, I think a part that did not change is my love for the Japanese language! However, my energy level has not been the same and studying languages as much as I wish to has been difficult.

As many of you know, the pandemic is still on-going in America. I have been working from home since March. For a while, my routine was sleep and work. I was seeing every event being cancelled one after the other. Now, they are talking about a second wave coming along the flu season. Future seems a bit depressing at the moment. They are talking about a new reality. I guess I don’t know how to fit into this new world.

To help distracted my mind from the constantly rising numbers, I wanted to study Japanese to boost up my level. Like many, I tried to see it as an opportunity to have more time for my personal projects. But, I guess my accountability requires external force. I bought the 日本語総まとめ N3 series a while back and I am taking way more than the number of weeks indicated haha

Instead, I took a Japanese writing course during the summer. I was really nice to have a project other than work and Zelda (game I am still not done with :S). I really liked the course and spend so much time writing the little texts. Now, I know particules are my worst enemy 😦

When the course was done, I almost had a wave of anxiety thinking I was back to only having work to occupy my mind. So, I registered to a Korean online course on a whip.

I wish I could self-study with all the books have I accumulated over the years. But, in the few classes I atttended, I have learned more than since I mentionned wanting to learn Korean. I have a few more Japanese classes starting in September.

For a long time in a while, I am looking forward for the next weeks to come.

Is this a comeback? I don’t know. But, I hope finally commiting to invest more time to my language learning will help me boost my lost creativity 🙂

Would you like to share your thoughts?